The Big 100

30 Jan

A Look Back To The Starting Line:

227561_10540318889_5943_n

Kevin, CB, and I at Louisville Zoo in KY 2007.

I started this blog five years ago as Kevin, my husband, and I were away from our family and friends while at seminary in Kentucky. It was a way for me to process that amazing and formational experience. Those early posts I also wrote a lot about my mom and her battle with cancer.Three Coffins and No Funeral

Back then my posts were filled with self-reflection and thoughts about where I have been, hence the roots and reflections name. I posted just over 40 posts in those four plus years. I know a blazing pace. I didn’t really have any direction about what I wrote or where this blog could go. It was really just a journal–and I was never a very consistent journaler.

In January 2012 I started reading healthy living blogs as I began my path to running. I first started reading Will Run For Coffee (to see how this blog impacted me click here). I am not going to be hyperbolic saying that reading a blog changed my life but for once I related to someone. It made me feel less crazy. It made me feel like the best was not behind me physically. I started finding other blogs like Meals and Miles, Healthy Tipping Point, and Run Eat Repeat. Each one influenced and inspired me in different ways. I got good ideas for meals, good tips for running gear, and a good dose of humor. All things a rookie needs. However, they are all a lot younger than me and until recently none of them had kids so sometimes I felt like my life was just in such a different place. Sometime I felt like I missed my window to truly have the time and freedom to focus on myself and my health.

In the Race:

Finding my Footing

Each of those bloggers planted a seed in me and I as I read post after post I thought to myself I could do this. I too have a voice. My journey is so different and that is OK because I bet there are other people who are like me…trying to be a good wife, a good mother, and take good care of myself. So almost a year after reading so many other bloggers do what I really wanted to do…I got in the race for myself. I told Kevin that blogging would be an important focus for me in 2013 and I would give it three months of my attention and effort to see how I really liked writing everyday not just thinking about writing everyday. So here I am one month in and over 5o posts later I have reached a milestone, my 100th post for the blog.

Ingrid, Suzanne, and I just before my first half marathon in Kiawah Island, SC.

Ingrid, Suzanne, and I just before my first half marathon in Kiawah Island, SC.

Down the Road:

One month in and I am really enjoying blogging. I enjoy the writing. I think I am benefiting from the discipline it takes to sit down everyday and do this (several times a day). I really can’t wait to see where this path will take me. I have some decisions to make. Do I need to change the name of the blog since the name came from a different place and time in my journey? How much effort do I put into this?

100th Post

For now, I am pressing on and enjoying journey.

If you have been a part of the path to 100 posts let me know! I would love to hear from you!

2 Responses to “The Big 100”

  1. ejw22 January 30, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    I agree very much with your point about how other bloggers plant an idea seed in my mind, and it keeps me going!

  2. providenceumc January 30, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    I’ve read everyone and I’m inspired by them all. I love them and I love you!

Leave a Reply

