From Cuba with Love

29 Jan

I love the calm a slow cooker meal brings to meal time for me. There is not frantic cooking as I try to get dinner on the table before someone has to be somewhere. No, it was easy because the pork had been simmering away all day making my house smell great. I mean it smells so great that if someone were to stop by they would be impressed by my domestic prowess by the sheer aroma. They would forget the mess, overlook the laundry, and dismiss the clutter and think, “this gal knows what she is doing”.

Tonight’s meal was a home run in that everyone in the family liked it. Success! I have used the Slow Cooker Pernil before and it is always tasty. Tonight I adjusted the recipe for the ingredients I had on hand and it was still good.

I made rice, guacamole, and roasted sweet potatoes for the sides. I had originality planned to make soft tacos but I realized too late that we were out of tortillas. So, I made some rice and decided to serve it over the rice.

I cubed two large sweet potatoes and tossed them in one Tb of olive oil. I added 1/4 t of cinnamon and nutmeg. Salt and pepper to taste.
photo (31)

I placed them in a pan and roasted them for 25 minutes at 400 degrees. They were soft and sweet and yummy. I didn’t think they needed any brown sugar but if you wanted a sweet treat you could definitely sprinkle some sugar on top. The nutmeg and cinnamon made a good flavor match to the heavy cumin in the pork.
photo (30)

photo (32)I always feel so fancy when I use whole nutmeg and grate into my recipes. It does taste so much better than the dried spice.

photo (29)

I shredded the pork using two forks directly in my slow cooker.

photo (27) photo (25)

 

Pernil pork~4 points, homemade guacamole~3 points plus, 1/2 cup of roasted sweet potatoes~2 points plus.

I opted out of the rice and just stuck to the pork, guacamole  and potatoes. I added a few extra tomatoes slices to the top of my guacamole. I would have taken pictures of the making of the guacamole but CB was helping me make it. It seems like when I have a ‘helper’ in the kitchen I am busier keeping calamity at bay. We added two avocados  half an onion and tomato diced, cilantro, garlic, salt and pepper. Topped with the juice of one lime (I used lemon because that is what I had on hand.)

Total Meal: 10 points plus

ZB, our youngest, came home with a fever and cough today from school…I am contemplating how long it would make the smell of rubbing alcohol to dissipate if I sprayed the whole house down.

We won’t get sick. We won’t get sick. We won’t get sick…

The rain has started outside and we are all tucked warmly at home tonight.

I see coffee, reading, and maybe some tele in my future.

How do you judge if a meal was a success?

Live well,

Becca

 

 

Leave a Reply

