The Work of a Lifetime

26 Jan

Good Morning~

It is cold outside! Although we don’t have the ice and snow like the rest of the east coast it was a chilly morning run even though I got a much later start than I planned. It was about 40 degrees when I set out but it was a windy misty 40 degrees.  I promptly turned around and went back to the house to put on some gloves!
Sat run

2 miles in 22 minutes. I wanted to run more but my late start and family plans all I could get in was a quick two. I hope I can go back out later in the day and do two more. (here’s why). Why do I always make such a funny face in these pictures? I am going to blame it on squinting at the sun. Yeah, that’s it.

Jeff Galloway Run Walk Timer

My new running toy. If you have followed my running journey at all you know I am a big fan of Jeff Galloway and his run/walk running method. It opened the door of running for me that I thought was long since closed because of my injury history and fitness level.  Kevin went to his running store when he was in Atlanta a few weeks ago and brought me back this gadget.  Now I don’t have to keep looking my watch to time my intervals.  Big fan. Now if I can just find it every time I go run. I hid it from myself this morning trying to keep it out of the grubby paws of my three-year old…one of the several reasons I was late on my run.

Breakfast Waffles

Post run breakfast. It felt good to finish off a container of fruit before it went bad. I am famous for letting fruit go bad in the frig!

Breakfast plate

Two Van Waffles~4 points plus, One egg~2 points plus, Fruit~0 points plus, and 1Tbs of Maple Syrup~1 points plus. Total Meal: 7 points plus.

Breakfast Plate closeup

Notice the egg all over the plate? It might have blown up in the microwave. 2o seconds would be perfect to reheat an egg in my microwave. We have a 3o second setting and I won’t stand there and wait for 20 seconds to stop the microwave before my egg blows up. First World problem.

Breakfast plate berries

ZB and I are off to run a few errands and CB and Kevin are at the local food bank volunteering this morning. This is her first time volunteering outside of our church. There is so much need out there and Kevin and I are helping girls learn to care, to get involved, and to make a difference. It is what we are called to do. I am proud of her for going.

Going to church is easy. Being the hands and feet of Christ is the work of a lifetime.

What are your Saturday plans? How do you serve in your community?

 

2 Responses to “The Work of a Lifetime”

  1. ejw22 January 26, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    http://www.jeffgalloway.com/store/best-selling-items/run-walk-run-timer.html

    I want one!! Hmmm $20… should I get it? I think I should! I should make it a prize for myself.

    • rootsandreflections January 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      You should! It wasn’t a change my life thing, like a good sports bra, but it does make doing intervals so much easier!

Leave a Reply

