Yummy in My Tummy

24 Jan

It really feels that way sometimes…(to read more about why click here).

Today’s Eats:

Eggland's Best

I love to use precooked hard-boiled eggs. They are a little more pricey than a dozen of eggs but I have learned that it has to be convenient for me to make good choices.  Eggland Best brand has coupons all the time so I save money and time.  Besides they look so nice and fancy on the plate (I can’t peel a hard-boiled egg to save my life!).

Natures Own 40 Bread

I have found that all breads are not created equal. Nature’s Own 40 Calorie breads are 1 point per slice. Some breads are up to 3 points per slice. If you eat toast or sandwiches several times a week these extra points really add up. I would rather save those points for fancy bread not just a slice of toast.
Toast and eggs

~4 points plus for two eggs. ~2 points plus for bread and ~0 points plus blueberries. Total meal: 6 points. 

hard boiled eggs with toast

Some mornings one egg is plenty some I am hungrier and I eat two. This morning I ate breakfast much later than usual so by the time I ate I was hungry and I wanted two eggs.

ZB and I had the morning together to run some errands. Since she is in preschool five days a week now we don’t have our morning outings anymore. It was fun to hang with her. It took forever to get things done but she was darn cute.

Lunch:

Salad makings

What it takes to ‘throw together a salad’.  This is why I love to get salads when I am out. I don’t love salad prep. I know. It is a healthy sin. Hi, my name is Becca and I don’t like making salads. Judge away.

mixed greens, blueberries, carrots, and mushrooms~0 points plus. egg~2 points plus. Pickled beets~1 point plus. Bacon Pieces (left over from a recipe)~1 points plus. Hidden Valley Ranch Organic Dressing~2 points plus for 1 Tb. Sunflower seeds~1 points plus.

Total Meal: 7 points plus

mixed greens salad

45 mins later…ok 5 minutes later my salad is ready to eat.

mixed greens salad close up

It was yummy in my tummy! (even if it was a pain in the…)

Let’ live well, friends.

Do you like to make salads?  How do you make healthy food prep easier?

5 Responses to “Yummy in My Tummy”

  1. ejw22 January 24, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    Wow, I just realized that when I’m at the grocery store I always tell myself “Don’t buy those hard boiled eggs because they are more expensive and you can just boil your own eggs at home” however…. when I get home, it is so inconvenient that I never do it!
    So I am sbotaging myself. I need to buy the convenient hard boiled eggs like you do. Gosh I know it seems like a simple thing, but for me it was a “light bulb” gon on in my mind! Lol
    Ok, have a great week! Emily

    • rootsandreflections January 24, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      It is the little things, right? I saw another blogger use these eggs for an easy new mother breakfast and a light bulb went off for me as well! Thanks for reading!
      ~Becca

  2. wtpoohbear2004 January 24, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    I had got some hard boiled eggs like that at ingles, just not that brand and they were nasty so I guess I will have to try that brand instead!

  3. victorianeedstoeat January 25, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    I may have to borrow your lunch idea! The hard boiled eggs and bread with fruit idea is a very good one :). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

