Track It Tuesday ~ Better Late Than Never

24 Jan

It has taken me a bit of time to muster up the courage for this post…

I recently started back to Weight Watchers. (You can read about that journey here). I decided that I would start a feature called Track it Tuesdays to hold myself accountable and share my journey with you. I picked Tuesday only because this is the day of my weekly meeting so it works for me.

This week’s  stats…

Weigh-in: -.2 lbs.

Total lost: 4.0

Pounds til goal weight: 40.4

This was a particularly difficult weigh-in experience for me. I mean one of the toughest of my entire weight-loss career which is basically my entire life. I went into the meeting on Tuesday feeling confident. I had a small loss last week so I felt that my hard work was going to show up on the scale this week. This was my week.

I exercised. I tracked. I did all the right things. I ate out a lot and made good choices. I said no to desserts. I didn’t eat the pie that was in my frig all week. I really tried.

I lost .2 pounds. Not two pounds but two tenths of a pound which is as close to zero as you can get on a Weight Watchers scale.

I really almost cried. Like break down into big ol’ loud sobs right there at the check-in table (I go to a WW meeting in our church’s community center). It took a lot to hold back the tears. I wanted to walk out the door. I wanted to get into my car and drive away to Ihop and eat pancakes. Instead I walked into the meeting. I felt sad and raw but I went in.

I won’t lie and say things got better once I was in there. It was difficult to hear other people’s success stories. Usually, listening to other people’s big losses or stories of good choices inspires me. On that day, they made me feel jealous. Sad. Hopeless. Someone in my meeting lost 8 lbs that week (no it wasn’t their first week). My mind started racing. “How long would it take me to lose 8 lbs. It feels like it will take months. Why does my body not want to cooperate? Another said she finally started eating fruit and she lost over 5 pounds that week. I eat fruit all the time! I started to feel nauseated. I cried as I drove home.

I admit after that meeting I kind of fell off the wagon for two days. I didn’t track. I didn’t care what I ate. I didn’t blog. I kept telling myself it didn’t matter if I did those things or not because I didn’t lose weight either way. I had myself a full-fledged pity party fueled by chocolate chip cookies.

I could have stayed on that path down into the pit of self loathing but I have walked that road before and it didn’t take me where I wanted to go. So this morning I took a depth breath and started again. I might have to start again and again and again before I reach my goal.

Do I wish I lost 8 pounds last week? Yes.

Am I having a hard time staying motivated when I am having so little success? Yes

Some days blogging about it is the only thing that makes me keep trying.

How about you?  How do you handle being surrounded by success when you are struggling?  Have any Track it Tuesday success or struggles to share?

8 Responses to “Track It Tuesday ~ Better Late Than Never”

  1. Leslie January 24, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    Thanks for being honest. I have been invited back to WW but have resisted. Last time I did everything right and didn’t loose enough pounds to mention. It was really depressing. I’m making better food choices so I guess it wasn’t a total loss, but I’m not ready to jump back into WW yet. I’ll be cheering for you as you go on this journey and as you train for your next race!

    • rootsandreflections January 24, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      Thanks Leslie! I have had success with WW in the past and I know I will again. I just have to figure out how to do this as I am now….Thanks for reading.

  2. wtpoohbear2004 January 24, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    I so understand how you feel. I have lost and gained the same 10lbs for over a year now and it is so discouraging. I try to do it all right and just ugh, I am still going no where. Your blog has been a real inspiration to me and I wanted to also let you know I really enjoyed coming to the service Sunday and you were so nice to talk to me and welcome me and my kids. I will pray things go better for you and let me know any tricks you figure out as well! Lol! God Bless.

  3. Kimberly Workman January 24, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    OK, Woman! You and I wear the same shoes so I have a few things to share with you. When I joined WW back in Aug, I flipped out over the number of points I was getting, but I understand the program has changed and I get all that, however, I would just bring up the fruit thing. You know it has sugar and if your over eating fruit, it will tell on the scale. I found this out the hard way. Also, you are starting out with working out and weight loss. At the beginning the whole muscle vs fat thing is trying to get straight, so be nice to your self about that. You are the one who got me doing Shred, so hang in there! One last thing and I’m sure this goes again what WW tells us and how PW live, but watch the eating out. Do you have the “Restaurant” app for your phone? Has saved my butt more than once! As soon as I watched the amount of fruit I was eating, and started eating at home, or preparing by packing a great something to eat, the weight started to drop. I’m 4 pounds away from goal…AGAIN!!! I’m pulling for you and know that you are such a motivation to me! You can do it! Everyday is a day to start again!!
    ps, you can tell me to blow it out my nose if you want, but I worked for WW right before we left Wilmore!

    • rootsandreflections January 24, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      Thanks Kim. You’re right. I know there are areas I really need to focus on to see the results I want. I am trying to figure out how to do this in ‘real life’ as a PW and all that. I need some cheerleaders! Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yummy in My Tummy « Roots & Reflections - January 24, 2013

    […] It really feels that way sometimes…(to read more about why click here). […]

  2. Sharing the Love « Roots & Reflections - January 25, 2013

    […] today and I know that this week’s trip to the scale will probably be tough (to see why click here).  However, I am trying to make the best choices I can on this day and hopefully those each of […]

  3. Track It Tuesday « Roots & Reflections - January 29, 2013

    […] And just like that I feel like I can do this again. Isn’t it amazing what one pound will do. Last week I only lost .2 pounds and felt like I was never going to be able to succeed at my goal. This week […]

Leave a Reply

