Not So Long Run

19 Jan

I have decided not to run my half marathon in February.

Before I get into that I’ll catch up on last night’s dinner…

20130118-190156.jpg

 

Turkey chili with beans~7 points plus and grilled cheese sandwich with fat-free cheese on homemade bread~6 points plus.

My pre-run fuel..

Pre run PB ToastNatures Own Light Bread~1 point per slice Table spoon of peanut butter~3 points plus. I added a few chai seeds for extra protein punch.

3 Mile Run

 

3.1 miles in 30:02.

I am not going to lie. Those two seconds killed me. I so want to break a 30 minute 5k. One day.

Speaking of 5ks. I began my running journey by wanting to run one race a month for a year. I had 5ks in mind. Once I had a few under my belt my goal changed to a half marathon. I started pounding out the long runs without really ever having built a solid base or conquering the 5k (ie under 30 minutes). Now that I have run a half marathon I thought I had to keep doing half marathons to be a real runner. But, I have started to get burned out. Tired. Not looking forward to running. Dreading my long runs. If you noticed I haven’t run all week.

This is not why I started running. I decided I am not training for a race but running for a better life and that must be my goal. If training for a particular race was turning me off from running then I don’t need to do that race. So, I have decided not to do the Run the Reagan half marathon in February.

I instead want to run for fun again. I want to do the work on my 5k times. I will see where that takes me…. maybe back to the half marathons. I am not taking my goal of running four half marathons this year off the table. I am just choosing not to focus on it right now.

Whew, I feel better just writing that down.

Lunch:

Salmon Egg Scramble

 

I made a quick scramble for lunch since I didn’t have any eggs for breakfast.  In the mix: left over salmon~2 points plus, broccoli~0 points plus, tomatoes~0 points plus, two eggs~4 points plus. Fresh strawberries~0 points plus and one slice of Natures Own Light Bread~1 points plus. Total: 7 points plus.

So now to enjoy a bit of my Saturday. My family is coming over the visit with the kiddos and to do dinner.

What are you big Saturday plans? Have you ever been burned out?

 

Leave a Reply

