Where’s the Beef?

17 Jan

What’s for dinner? Not beef!

After a few rounds of leftovers with the prime rib from Saturday’s dinner party I am ready to take a break from all thing bovine (except milk, cheese, or really all things dairy).

So, tonight was surf and turf minus the turf.

20130117-202555.jpg
Baked salmon, steamed broccoli, and brown rice ~5 points plus. (I know it is hard to tell from the photos but my portion was tiny.

This meal looked better than it tasted. I was rushing dinner trying to get it done before CB had to go to scouts. I can hurry through a lot of things but I don’t rush cooking well. Tonight’s meal was sad evidence of this.

20130117-203953.jpg
I used a tablespoon of olive oil to coat the salmon so it wouldn’t stick to the pan. Seasoned it with salt, pepper, and dill. The filets were fairly thin and I over cooked them.

The brown rice was of the cook for days variety. I didn’t have days or even an hour. I have followed the microwave directions before with success. However, it is a recipe for failure when you try to speed up microwave directions. The rice was tough. I zested and squeezed half a lemon on the rice and added some flat leaf parsley for color. It looked nice. It tasted good. It had an unpleasant texture. Thankfully I didn’t screw up steaming he broccoli.

20130117-204023.jpg

After messing up dinner I had to hurry over to the scouts meeting. The worst part? I had to do public math. I had to compile CB’s cookie orders and balance out the money collected. I should’ve had it all taken care of before the meeting. I did not. It took me almost the entire hour but I think I figured it out.

The thought of all those boxes of yummy cookies invading our home in a few weeks makes me nervous.

I won’t eat all the cookies. I won’t eat all the cookies. I won’t eat…

It’s clear I am not made of Iron Chef material. How are you under pressure in the kitchen?

Leave a Reply

