Going to the Dark Side

16 Jan

Good morning and afternoon!

I am an egg junkie. I could eat eggs at every meal. If I don’t have an egg at breakfast I feel cheated. I think it is because I really prefer savory breakfast foods over sweet ones. Don’t get me wrong I really like pancakes, oatmeal, and donuts but not really first thing in the morning. Weird, I know.

Having said this my morning breakfasts are fairly repetitive. You will see a lot of eggs. If there is no egg I will be thinking I wish I had an egg.

DSCN2268

I load up my egg poacher full of eggs and then I only have to cook once for the whole week. I know the foodies out there are cringing at my use of a poacher instead of boiling water and vinegar. I love those kind of eggs if I’m eating out somewhere for brunch but when the rubber hits the road on any given morning I avoid anything I may screw up or have to redo…those four minutes are precious!

DSCN2269Put a lid on it and walk away…until the timer goes off!

Ta da.

Eggs.

DSCN2271

One lovely poached egg for today, and three more for later in the week. Just punch a hole in the egg and reheat in the microwave.

I chopped up an apple for a side (I use an apple slicer. I have to say my world changed with this little kitchen gadget. My girls eat apples like they are going out of style and I would hand slice every single one. My old apple slicer broke a few weeks ago and it took me a couple of weeks to replace it. I have a cute bright green one from IKEA that makes apple prepping even more fun.)

Just like that – Breakfast. 5 points plus.

Breakfast took less time to prepare than it did for you to read my essay on apple slicers :).

Lunch:

DSCN2276

My photography assistant, ZB. I have to admit I was afraid she was going to drop it the whole time I was taking this picture.

DSCN2274

I did cut back on the pasta salad….baby steps people. I am a carb junkie at heart so to have a carb less meal is a big step. ~6 points plus.  I also had one chicken tender off the hot bar~2 points plus.

Man, I almost forgot to tell you about the coffee. If you know me you know I am a coffee girl.  I don’t think this blog does my coffee habit justice.  How many pictures of coffee can you post in one day?

I drink a lot of coffee. A lot. And although I would usually track the half and half, sugar, or Splenda I used I don’t really think I faithfully did so. Until yesterday. I measured every drop of cream, sugar, or Splenda I put into my coffee.  WOW. I was using 5-6 points a day on that stuff.  At least. That is a huge amount of  unnecessary points. I was drinking a lot more of my points than I realized and I really try not to do that.  So today… I started drinking my coffee black. Ebony. Sans anything. Liquid mahogany. You get it. Black.

Drink Black Coffee Poster

temptationdesigns

Time to take a real look at all the assumptions I make about my food and drink choices everyday. There might be some other surprises hidden in there.

Do you have any hidden items in your diet that are sabotaging your weight loss?

4 Responses to “Going to the Dark Side”

  1. wtpoohbear2004 January 16, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Your blog is so inspiring if all goes well with my son and getting out of hospital etc I plan to come to Fumc this Sunday. Hope to maybe meet you. I also would love to know if you ever need a running partner I’d love to get back to running, I love it. God Bless.

    Kristin Jones
    602-469-6091

    FYI I am part of the mind group there at the church well.

    • rootsandreflections January 16, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks Kristin. I look forward to meeting you if you get a chance to come to church on Sunday. Blessings!

  2. adrianna80 January 17, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Look so tasty! Thank You for sharing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Will Order The Salad « Roots & Reflections - January 16, 2013

    […] Into the heart of darkness…still going black with the coffee. (Find out why here). […]

Leave a Reply

