Take Two

3 Jan

Have you ever completely underestimated how long it would take for a meal to come together? Welcome to my world tonight. I mentioned the other day that I have switched our emeals plan to their Clean Eating Plan. So far I really like it. The meals are tasty and healthy. I feel good about serving them to my whole family. My only gripe is that the meals take longer to prepare. There is more prep since each item in the recipes are in their natural state and need to be chopped, sliced, peeled, or manipulated in some way. Tonight I knew I was on a tight time-table because I had to take our oldest to Girl Scouts. These are the nights we used to grab dinner out, but I am making a real effort to make healthy meals at home. I felt like I was an Iron Chef in the kitchen. Too bad Alton Brown wasn’t narrating.

The results:

photo (22)Sorry the picture is a little dark. That is what happens when I don’t get dinner finished in time for me to eat. I had to eat when I got home later. Our dinning room has mood lighting at best.

whole wheat English muffin~3 points plus

tomato slices~0 points plus

smear of low fat mayo~1 points plus

Brown Rice Vegetable Burger* (black beans, brown rice, onions, garlic, spices, bread crumbs, and eggs) ~5 points plus *next time I would add shredded carrots and other veggies and reduce the onion.

Winter Salad* (baby romaine, pomegranate seeds, pear, walnuts, scallions, and dressing of olive oil, Dijon mustard, and red wine vinegar)~ 5 points plus *Next time I would reduce the oil as the dressing seemed heavy to me and I don’t really want to use 5 point on a salad.

14 points plus is a little high for a home cooked dinner to me. I need to work on modifying these recipes to make them a little lighter. It wouldn’t be a problem if I hadn’t had a snack of champions this afternoon. Just walk away from the pop tarts. Just walk away. We don’t usually have sugary snacks light pop tarts in the house because they are trigger foods for me and I eat all of them. Oh, and it’s better for my kids to reduce sugar. Yeah, that’s it. For the kiddos. Yet, we have some lingering snacks from a recent youth trip Kevin went on…must throw away pop tarts. Although they were not in my hand long enough for me to take a photo of them I did track my lapse in judgement on my WW etools tracker.

Another confession, I completely bailed on my run tonight. I was going to run on the treadmill after Scouts. My hip is still hurting. I don’t know what I have done. Feels like I have overworked my left hip flexer. Tomorrow is supposed to be an off day but I think I will try to do two slow miles to work out my hip to be ready for my long run on Saturday.

Do you have any foods that you just can’t stay away from? Anyone else feels rushed when cooking?

3 Responses to “Take Two”

  1. Kimberly Workman January 4, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Preacher man always gets me Mike and Ike’s for Christmas, even tho I ask him not to. 4 points for like 6 pieces! 3 Boxes, and some whoppers! After I finished off the whopper and 1 box of gooey goodness, the trash can saved me!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saving Bob and Three Questions « Roots & Reflections - January 4, 2013

    […] Black bean and brown rice veggie burger with fruit on a whole wheat English muffin~8 points plus.  […]

Leave a Reply

