The Great Weigh In

7 Nov

#POTM update:

Nov 1-3:     5.19 miles (94.81  to go!)

Nov 4-10:  4 so far (94.81  to go!)

To get personal….

I took a really big step yesterday. A big ol’ scary step.  I joined Weight Watchers.  

This is my fourth time joining WW.

The first, I lost 30 lbs of post marital bliss and moving stress weight and I made Lifetime (for those in the non WW world that means I lost all the weight I wanted to lose and kept it off). I felt empowered. I felt like I finally had a hold on the weight issue I had struggled with my whole life.

I didn’t really exercise like WW urges. I wasn’t strong. I was skinny; the thinnest I have ever been in my life.

The second time I joined was to get off the baby weight from my first pregnancy. I gained 70 lbs during a difficult pregnancy. I had 45ish pounds to lose when all the was said and done with CB’s birth. I lost 20 and then we moved and I didn’t go back to WW because we were BROKE graduate students. So I carried that extra 25 lbs trying to do things on my own. For two years I didn’t really lose any weight but I didn’t really gain any either.

The third time my mother had just died. I ate my way through my grief and gained back the 2o lbs I had lost the second time at WW. This time I started my WW journey weighing more than I had ever weighed (when not pregnant) in my life.  I lost 15. I got pregnant with ZB, our second daughter. I had to stop my WW membership until ZB was born. I started back as soon as possible trying to lose the now baby weight on-top of the previous extra pounds I had been carrying. I lost just shy of 25 lbs. We moved.

So here I am starting my fourth WW journey with a lot of weight to lose.  Part of me is thrilled to be making the commitment to myself. To my health. Part of me is terrified something is going to happen to prevent me from reaching my goal. I have been running for almost a year now and I haven’t lost any weight. This should give you a hint to my disordered eating and how I cope with the stress of life.

So here I am…

Please excuse the camera work. Need better way to take self portraits!

day one of my fourth journey with 44.4 lbs to lose.

Now I really like running so the exercise issue should be easier. I am getting stronger. I am far from skinny; I don’t care to be the thinnest I have ever been in my life I just want to be healthy and a good role model for my girls.

So why am I writing about this? I feel like this is going to be a big part of my life so I would like to share my journey and talking/writing about it makes it all seem more real instead of just a game I am playing in my head.

If you would like to take this journey with me I will update my stats on Track it Tuesdays. You can too. Tell us your successes and struggles in the area of weight loss or anything else. We all need a place to share…

5 Responses to “The Great Weigh In”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Track It Tuesday « Roots & Reflections - November 13, 2012

    […] week I started back to Weight Watchers. (You can read about that journey here). I decided that I would start a feature called Track it Tuesdays to hold myself accountable and […]

  2. Track It Tuesday (on Wednesday) « Roots & Reflections - November 21, 2012

    […] recently started back to Weight Watchers. (You can read about that journey here). I decided that I would start a feature called Track it Tuesdays to hold myself accountable and […]

  3. Track It Tuesday « Roots & Reflections - December 11, 2012

    […] recently started back to Weight Watchers. (You can read about that journey here). I decided that I would start a feature called Track it Tuesdays to hold myself accountable and […]

  4. Track It Tuesday- First Weigh-In After Christmas « Roots & Reflections - January 8, 2013

    […] recently started back to Weight Watchers. (You can read about that journey here). I decided that I would start a feature called Track it Tuesdays to hold myself accountable and […]

  5. Track It Tuesday ~ Better Late Than Never « Roots & Reflections - January 24, 2013

    […] recently started back to Weight Watchers. (You can read about that journey here). I decided that I would start a feature called Track it Tuesdays to hold myself accountable and […]

Leave a Reply

