A loaf of bread, a container of milk, and a stick of butter…

7 Mar

Background: Kevin and I have given up TV for lent. We have done it before and we really enjoy the kind of time no TV creates for us.

Issue: No TV equals no news…. and I am really ok with this fact. I stay in the loop online, which is what I prefer to do anyway. However, last night our internet was not working and we missed the “Great Storm” forecast. So when I awoke this morning to snow flurries I felt the need to hurry, to rush somewhere. But where?

Realization: Why is it those of born and raised in the South have a compulsion– a need to scurry to the grocery store for winter storms? How bad does it really get that we need to ‘stock up’ ‘just in case’? Remember the great storm of … ’82?
I can hear Glen Burns in my head…. Action 2 weather…. stay tuned!

I must say I was shocked the first time I rushed to Kroger to stock up during our first Kentucky snow…there were parking places, milk was on the shelves, and there was no line in the beer isle. Different.

But I am not a local, so off to Kroger I will go…. 6-8 inches of snow…
what do we need?

A loaf of bread….
A container of milk…
and a stick of butter…..

or something like that.

One Response to “A loaf of bread, a container of milk, and a stick of butter…”

  1. KellyLawson22 March 13, 2008 at 11:17 pm #

    ha!! This is hilarious! 🙂 I love it.

Leave a Reply

