100 Thing Challenge

31 Jan

I want to share out my 100 Thing Challenge but first let’s catch up on my meals.

Yesterday’s Lunch and Dinner:

photo (38)photo (39)photo (41)

Leftover Slow Cooker Pork Pernil on bed of spinach and my new favorite drink!~7 points plus.

photo (37)

I was home all day with a sick kiddo. We didn’t even make it out for Wednesday Night Supper at church. Thankfully, after the bad storms and pouring rain I was happy to leave ZB in her pj’s and go grab a takeout box from church for dinner.

photo (43)photo (40)photo (42)photo (45)

Taco Dinner~13 point plus.

Today’s Late Breakfast

ZB is still feeling under the weather so the two of us snuggled up on the sofa and went back to sleep this morning. I like taking full advantage of her extra naps for my own sleep needs!

By the time I ate it felt more like lunch so I made a chicken salad English muffin.

photo (47)photo (46)photo (50)

I added some flax-seed to the top of my chicken salad for a little extra punch of nutrition.~7 points plus total.

Whew, that was a lot of ground to cover. Sick kid or no it is much easier to post those meals in smaller batches.


My Hundred Thing Challenge:

For the last couple of years I have been struggling with our family’s, and mine specifically, growing amount of stuff.  If you live a lifestyle where you know moves are inevitable (click here to find out why) I think you become more aware of what you have and what it will take to move it all again one day. My faith also tells me we are to do a better job as caretakers of God’s creation and like so many other Christians I was/am not doing enough.

I want…

  • to have less but to be fulfilled.
  • to make less but do things well.
  • to waste less and reuse more.
  • to do less but be more.
  • to weigh less and have a lighter life.

Sometimes I get discouraged within the Christian community of the blind acceptance of a consumer way of life. There are voices who say otherwise but they are drowned out.

I was, and still am to some degree, a top-notch consumer. I wanted more stuff. I wanted my home to look just so. I wanted books on every shelf so people would be dazzled by our intellect.  I wanted new clothes that made me feel pretty. I wanted the kids to have the best toys. I wanted…

However, all this stuff was not making me happy. I finally figured out it was bringing so much stress into my life by trying to keep things cleaned, organized, and uncluttered. I wanted to buy more stuff to manage the stuff I already had. Sad.

So I have been on a journey to lighten our load. I have been donating like a mad woman for about two years as I tried to really look at why I have the things I do.

One blogger I often read, Be More With Less, presents projects to simply your life. The first one I started playing with is her Project 333 challenge but my focus for 2013 will be The Reverse 100 Thing Challenge. I have adapted the challenge to my goals. I plan to give away 100 items a month for the duration of 2013. Yep, that is 1,200 items by the end of the year.

On January 31, 2013 I have already donated my 100 items for this month and I have a box where I am gathering items for next months total.

The whole family is on board. I will be sharing more of this challenge as we go through the year.

Live Well,

Becca

What is the first item that comes to mind that you could give away right now? Are you ready to do it?

2 Responses to “100 Thing Challenge”

  1. ejw22 January 31, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    I love getting things cleaned out, all kinds of things can clutter up my life. Luckily my church has a garage sale every spring and I donate tons.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

